Theory expertly explained:

The Buffalo Theory: One afternoon at Cheers, Cliff Clavin was explaining the Buffalo Theory to his buddy Norm. And here’s how it went:

“Well ya see, Norm, it’s like this… A herd of buffalo can only move as fast as the slowest buffalo. And when the herd is hunted, it is the slowest and weakest ones at the back that are killed first. This natural selection is good for the herd as a whole, because the general speed and health of the whole group keeps improving by the regular killing of the weakest members.

“In much the same way, the human brain can only operate as fast as the slowest brain cells. Excessive intake of alcohol, as we know, kills brain cells. But naturally it attacks the slowest and weakest brain cells first.

In this way, regular consumption of beer eliminates the weaker brain cells, making the brain a faster and more efficient machine. That’s why you always feel smarter after a few beers.”

I found this on a Forum and decided I should share. It’s so good. I used to watch Cheers, and remember that I used to wonder whether all pubs where that fun. I was a young boy then. I also remember once (maybe more than once) going to Cheers Bar in London, just to see whether it was as good as the TV Bar. From the bits I remember I had fun, however, and a few of the weaker cells may have been exposed to a premature end.

Any road, the Theory has been around for centuries, and it has been repeated and shared countless times.Which seems to show everyone loves it. Cliff Calvin turned it into something quite memorable and popular in that episode of Cheers

Herd of Buffalo

Herd of Buffalo (Photo credit: ambergris)

TV show. However, I remember a long time ago some egotistical leaders tried to use this theory or some variation of this theory to justify their ¬†abominable barbaric policies. From where I sit, the Theory is just a bit of fun. Pubs tend to have a very good share of patrons who are ‘philosophers’ or theorists-normally they only ‘come out’ after a few drinks. It is all banter and good fun, I suppose.

What do other people think?

